Primary Years Programme (PYP) of the International Baccalaureate (IB)

In 2019, Te Hihi Primary became an accredited IB school implementing the Primary Years Programme (PYP).

The PYP transdisciplinary framework (meaning that it focuses on issues that go across subject areas) focuses on the development of the whole child as an inquirer. Te Hihi School continues to build on our Inquiry Based Learning Programme involving children in learning how to learn. The children are involved in purposeful inquiry for real learning. Children are encouraged to be independent and lifelong learners.

The International disciplinary programme of the PYP fosters the development of the child, not just in the classroom, but also through other means of learning.

The PYP supports the school wide values as it focuses on the total growth of the developing child, encouraging positive attitudes towards learning, the environment, and other people.

Essential Learning Areas & Principles

The NZ curriculum is made up of eight essential learning areas:

  • English

  • Mathematics & Statistics

  • Science

  • Technology

  • Social Science

  • Health & Physical Education

  • The Arts

  • Learning Languages

Key Competencies & Values

Underpinning the curriculum areas are five key competencies:

  • Thinking

  • Understanding language, symbols and texts

  • Relating to others

  • Managing self

  • Participating & contributing

The NZ curriculum identifies the following values as part of the curriculum:

  • Excellence

  • Innovation, inquiry and curiosity

  • Diversity

  • Equity

  • Community and participation

  • Ecological sustainability

  • Integrity


(our local curriculum)

Linking with the curriculum are the key areas of the Primary Years Programme:

  • Learner Profile (attributes)

  • Knowledge

  • Concepts

  • Approaches to Learning (skills)

  • Taking Action